49ers announce moves as roster cut down to 53 players

Photo Credit: Chris Mezzavilla

The 49ers have finally cut their roster down to 53 players, announcing their roster cuts nearly two hours after the 1 p.m. PT deadline.

Below are the roster cuts, per the team. Here are some of the more notable moves:

  • Cutting Nate Sudfeld, sticking with two quarterbacks
  • Cutting the 25-year-old Colton McKivitz in favor of the 32-year-old Tom Compton
  • Cutting Dontae Johnson in favor of Davontae Harris, who has been mostly injured since joining the 49ers
  • Cutting Wayne Gallman over JaMycal Hasty
  • Cutting Ha Ha Clinton-Dix over Tavon Wilson
  • Trading Jonas Griffith to keep five linebackers, with Marcell Harris and Demetrius Flannigan-Fowles being the fourth and fifth linebackers
  • Cutting tight end MyCole Pruitt, who’s a solid run blocker and was guaranteed $500,000 of his base salary
  • Cutting Travis Benjamin and Nsimba Webster and sticking with the most talented wide receivers in Jalen Hurd and Jauan Jennings as the final two

The following is from the 49ers:

“The San Francisco 49ers today announced they have traded LB Jonas Griffith and a 2022 seventh-round draft pick to the Denver Broncos in exchange for the Broncos 2022 sixth-round and 2023 seventh-round draft choices. The team also announced the following roster moves:

The following players have been placed on the Reserve/Physically Unable to Perform List:

Pos.          Name                                          

DB            Tarvarius Moore

RB            Jeff Wilson Jr.

The following player has been placed on the Injured Reserve List:

Pos.          Name                                          

T                Shon Coleman

The following players have been released:

Pos.          Name                                          

WR           Travis Benjamin

OL             Jake Brendel

S               Ha Ha Clinton-Dix

RB            Wayne Gallman II

CB            Dontae Johnson

OL             Senio Kelemete

TE             Jordan Matthews

TE             MyCole Pruitt

QB            Nate Sudfeld

DL             Eddie Yarbrough

The following players have been waived:

Pos.          Name                                          

DL             Alex Barrett

WR           River Cracraft

DL             Darrion Daniels

OL             Alfredo Gutierrez

LB             Justin Hilliard

FB             Josh Hokit

OL             Corbin Kaufusi

S               Jared Mayden

OL             Colton McKivitz

CB            Alexander Myres

OL             Dakoda Shepley

LB             Elijah Sullivan

WR           Nsimba Webster

The following player has been placed on the Reserve/Suspended List:

Pos.          Name                                          

DL             Jordan Willis”

Here’s what the roster looks like after those cuts:


In (2): Jimmy Garoppolo, Trey Lance

Out (1): Nate Sudfeld


In (5): Kyle Juszczyk, Raheem Mostert, Trey Sermon, Elijah Mitchell, JaMycal Hasty

Out (2): Wayne Gallman, Josh Hokit

PUP (1): Jeff Wilson Jr.

Tight end:

In (3): George Kittle, Ross Dwelley, Charlie Woerner

Out (1): MyCole Pruitt, Jordan Matthews

Wide receiver:

In (6): Deebo Samuel, Brandon Aiyuk, Mohamed Sanu, Trent Sherfield, Jauan Jennings, Jalen Hurd

Out (3): River Cracraft, Travis Benjamin, Nsimba Webster

Waived/Injured Reserve (2): Austin Watkins Jr., Richie James Jr.

Offensive line:

In (8): Trent Williams, Laken Tomlinson, Alex Mack, Daniel Brunskill, Mike McGlinchey, Aaron Banks, Jaylon Moore, Tom Compton

Out (6): Colton McKivitz, Dakoda Shepley, Jake Brendel, Senio Kelemente, Alfredo Gutierrez, Corbin Kaufusi

Injured Reserve (1): Shon Coleman

Defensive line:

In (11): Nick Bosa, Javon Kinlaw, D.J. Jones, Arik Armstead, Dee Ford, Samson Ebukam, Maurice Hurst, Zach Kerr, Kentavius Street, Arden Key, Kevin Givens

Out (3): Darrion Daniels, Eddie Yarbrough, Alex Barrett

Suspended (1): Jordan Willis


In (5): Fred Warner, Dre Greenlaw, Azeez Al-Shaair, Demetrius Flannigan-Fowles, Marcell Harris

Out (2): Elijah Sullivan, Justin Hilliard

Traded (1): Jonas Griffith

Injured Reserve (1): Mychal Kendricks


In (6): K’Waun Williams, Jason Verrett, Emmanuel Moseley, Ambry Thomas, Deommodore Lenoir, Davontae Harris

Out (2): Dontae Johnson, , Alexander Myres


In (4): Jimmie Ward, Jaquiski Tartt, Talanoa Hufanga, Tavon Wilson

Out (2): Ha Ha Clinton-Dix, Jared Mayden

PUP/IR (2): Tarvarius Moore, Tony Jefferson

Special teams (3): Taybor Pepper, Mitch Wishnowsky, Robbie Gould

Here’s what the roster cuts look like, visualized.

Graphics by Jake Hutchinson, Dieter Kurtenbach


Stay connected


Subscribe to The Bone's weekly eblast to get the latest on contests, events and exclusives from your favorite 107.7 personalities and artists.


Simmons Talks Kiss Legacy

The band will stop touring after their ‘End of the Road’ farewell trek but Simmons says KISS will still stick around in some form and do things he hasn’t “even thought of.” 

Aerosmith Streams 1993 Show

Aerosmith is streaming a 1993 show for the latest episode of their limited-edition 50th anniversary archival concert video series.