Women Who Rock: Celebrating International Women’s Day



Stevie Nicks: LAS VEGAS, NV – SEPTEMBER 21: (EDITORIAL USE ONLY; NO COMMERCIAL USE) Stevie Nicks of Fleetwood Mac performs onstage during the 2018 iHeartRadio Music Festival at T-Mobile Arena on September 21, 2018 in Las Vegas, Nevada. (Photo by Kevin Winter/Getty Images for iHeartMedia).

Joan Jett: NEW YORK, NY – APRIL 23: Joan Jett performs during the “Geezer” World Premiere during the 2016 Tribeca Film Festival at Festival Hub on April 23, 2016 in New York City. (Photo by Kevin Mazur/Getty Images).

Madonna: ROME – SEPTEMBER 06: Madonna performs at during her “Sticky and Sweet” world tour at Olympic Stadium on September 6, 2008 in Rome, Italy. (Photo by Elisabetta Villa/Getty Images).


Today, March 8th, is International Women’s Day! And although every day is a great day to honor the fabulous women in your life, today is an especially good day to celebrate. Moms, sisters, wives, friends, girlfriends, aunts, grandmothers, great-grandmothers, mother-in-laws, step-mothers…they all deserve recognition.

Here at The BONE, we’d like to highlight some of the incredible women in music history like Stevie Nicks, Joan Jett, The Runaways, Janis Joplin, Pat Benatar, Grace Slick, Heart (Ann and Nancy Wilson), Dolly Parton, Sister Rosetta Tharpe, Courtney Love, Aretha Franklin, Debbie Harry, Chrissie Hynde, Tina Turner, Patti Smith, Kim Deal, Madonna, Cyndi Lauper, Kim Gordon, Shirley Manson, Bonnie Raitt, The Go-Go’s, Laura Jane Grace, and Joni Mitchell just to name a few. So take some time today and think about a music industry without women. And then realize how lucky we are to have so many talented females among us.

Pull out some of your favorite female musicians’ albums’ and give them a listen. Let their greatness soak in, and enjoy. Check out a few social media tributes for women who rock below:

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Tom Morello (@tommorello)

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Stevie Nicks (@stevienicks)

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Janis Joplin (@janisjoplin)

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Grace Slick (@graceslickofficial)

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Blondie (@blondieofficial)

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Amoeba Hollywood (@amoebahollywood)

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by SPIN (@spinmag)

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Aretha Franklin (@arethafranklin)

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Tina Turner (@tinaturner)

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Mauro (@blues_overtook_me)

 

Win!

Headlines

Watch Soundwaves TV #84 – Talking Heads

This special episode features four interviews with musical movers and shakers you gotta know about! Whole Damn Mess is a rock and roll supergroup, Mickey Darius’ record label Broken Clover Records is changing the rules of the music industry, Monte Casino is the combination of three musicians from other bands bring pop and soul to…

Stay connected

 

Subscribe to The Bone's weekly eblast to get the latest on contests, events and exclusives from your favorite 107.7 personalities and artists.